Tradition Schmadition

Carole Morris
4 min readDec 31, 2021
Image courtesy of Pixabay

So much for 30+ years of hosting Christmas Eve at my house. No matter whether I crammed my family guests into my tiny apartment, or we had room to spread out in my townhome, it was something I looked forward to every year: my primary hostess splash.

Of course, it didn’t happen in 2020 and we were all looking forward to “returning to normal” in 2021. I say “all” but actually, I don’t want us to go back to normal. I liked this more selective socializing that Covid gave me permission to live. But…Christmas Eve…I mean, it’s tradition.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

But before Christmas Eve, there was Thanksgiving and my brother’s family (the hosts) had some protocols about vaccination and testing. I’m vaccinated and boosted, and I really don’t want to ever find out how well my body will fight the virus. I don’t think we yet know what havoc it can wreak: not imminent danger, but forward-weakening of some cell, some organ, some system in our body.

And still, I’ve been inconsistent. I have worn a mask all night at a game night because one of the guests wasn’t vaccinated and from what I can see on social media, she’s quite social, and never in the company of mask-wearers. If I had a do over, I’d have just left the party. I…

--

--

Carole Morris

Living everyday like it’s Saturday: retired. I was born for this.